What a Whirlwind

Today has been like a whirlwind. I mean, it has made me physically dizzy. When I dropped Javan off at school this morning, I was handed an envelope. I knew what it said without opening it. Javan cannot go to school there anymore. I mean, I hoped for the letter to say something else, anything else, but it didn’t. Friday is to be his last day at Crisman. They have valid reasons. I want to be mad at them so I can have someplace to dump all this emotion, but I honestly can’t. They have tried their very best and it isn’t working. He hurts teachers and children on a daily basis. You just can’t have that.

So…I cried all day and freaked my students out with my patchy face. I have to leave them. I have to leave the school with no grammar teacher. I cherish being at that school having relationships with those kids, and I have to give it all up. But I always knew being Mommy had to be first. Javan has to come first.

We will do tons of work and conform the office into a schoolroom. I will buy home school curriculum and go through the motions and be thankful for all the extra time I get to invest in my son. But I can’t muster the excitement or passion for home schooling that I have for teaching a variety of students. I know the feelings that will come…entrapment, resentment, monotony. And I know that my relationship with Javan will not be great. How do I know? I’ve tried this before. It didn’t go well. We don’t do 24/7 too well and we don’t do teacher/student very well…we both want mommy/son.

But if God has chosen to close all other doors, then at least I can be confident in knowing that this is his plan for us. At least for now.
There is a glimmer of hope for Javan at Crisman. We saw the psychiatrist yesterday and decided to take him off the Intuniv and increase the Risperdol just a tad. Today, his teachers and the director were dumbfounded by the change they saw in him behavior. He was “perfect.” They’ve never had a day like this – he didn’t get angry at all, not even once. Praise Jesus. We also started a gluten free diet this weekend, maybe that helped? Probably not this fast, but maybe. Anyways, if he has just as “perfect” of a day tomorrow…they may consider keeping him on for a while longer to see if the med changes have had a super positive effect.

By the way, I have to hand it to them. I LOVE the way they define perfect: “He was wild. Really wild. But we can handle wild. We just talk a little louder when he gets to the other side of the room and then softer when he laps back around to us.” They really do great things for these kids.

Leave a Reply

