Time to Embrace the Tree Huggers?

Baby Boy is officially a one-medicine kid. Risperdal is a necessary evil. No use trying to weed through all the unnecessary ones before we figure out he is just not going to be “normal.” His energy level is enormous! So much so that after just a short visit,my 13-year-old nephew looked at me like he was in physical pain and said, “He just has so much energy!” But I can not justify drugging him with everything in the book, and quite a few things out of the book, just to make other people more comfortable with his energy level. I guess I don’t even notice it that much anymore, outside of public situations. I forget how intense he seems to others.

However, I am still trying. I have not just accepted that this is the best he can be. I still have to do something to help him. My husband’s dear aunt called me a few weeks ago and said, “I know it might sound crazy, but I just want you to try iridology. I’ll pay for everything. Then if you decide it isn’t for you, no hard feelings.” Her family has been using natural medicines, iridology, and muscle testing for 20 years or so with much success. She has mentioned it to me several times over the past months and I’ve just never taken action. How lucky am I to have people in my life that love me and mine enough to invest money (which they’re not swimming in by the way), time, and energy into helping my son and family? She and my husband’s other aunt, who also has used these health methods for as many years, took off work to come to the appointment (which is an hour away) with us just to provide emotional support. In this sink or swim life, I am increasingly aware of and grateful for the many life rafts God has thrown my way.

So we had the appointment with the iridologist yesterday. First, they took extreme close-up pictures of his eyes with this camera that looks like half a pair of goggles that goes over one eye at a time. He did fabulous with that. Then, there was this large computer mouse thingy with some sort of body signal readers for each of the fingers and the palm. He had to place his hand there and hold each of the fingers still and in place for about five minutes while the computer assessed some “stuff.” I obviously don’t know as much as they do, but that’s why I went, right? The technician was amazed when the computer beeped to tell him the scan was done and said, “I’ve never had a kid take so little time because they usually can’t be still so the scan takes longer.” Yay, a compliment for my baby!

He did great up until this point. Then they asked us to switch rooms and Javan’s anxiety and energy level went way up. It was time for the muscle testing part. They use the results of the hand scan and eye pictures to narrow down a selection of herbs and vitamins and “stuff” that might be helpful. I had brought along all of the vitamins he already takes. They hold each of the products up to different parts of his body and use the muscle testing to sort of “ask his body” if this would be helpful or harmful and how much he might need. This is where I get a bit skeptical, but I am willing to give it a chance. Mostly because I trust these two aunts who are wonderful Christian women who have come to believe these things work through their own experiences. Plus, I wasn’t paying for any of it this time, so why not try it with an open mind?

The vitamins that I already give Javan were surprisingly good choices (thanks to my Google PhD). The muscle testing showed that I should increase the amounts of these though. And I only needed to add a very few things. This made me trust the iridologist a little more, since she didn’t insist that I buy all of the same vitamins I already give him in the name brand they sell there. Telling me to give him more of the stuff I buy at Wally World doesn’t make them any money, yet this was the main advice.

I did get a calcium plus D supplement, which I already knew he needed because he doesn’t get much calcium in his diet and he has hated every calcium supplement I’ve bought…which were numerous. Then she had me add some mercurious something or other homeopathy whatnot. It basically applies the same principle as allergy shots…give the person a teeny-tiny, almost obsolete amount of the thing their bodycan’t handle, and their body develops an immunity to it. In this case, instead of developing immunity, the purpose is to remind his body to detoxify itself of mercury. I’m so all for this, especially since his teeth are full of metal dental fillings. Plus, they had an almost-full open bottle they gave us for free! She also had me add a magnesium product called “Calm” that I got afterward from the Granery. Yet again, she was recommending a product which made her no money. Good sign to me. Calm is also for detoxing and it will also help with his bowel movements. We might not even need the Mirilax anymore. And the last thing was Golden Yarrow…a drop I put into his juice in the morning. I honestly can’t remember what this one is for, but I do know it had a purpose because I asked so, so very many questions about everything. I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

Sooo, for those of you keeping track or who want a simplified list of what he takes, here’s the skinny. Risperdal, a multivitamin, zinc plus echinacea, probiotics, omega-3, calcium plus D, calm, and golden yarrow. Plus fiber. Most of those are gummies by Lil’ Critter that I get at Wal-Mart. All natural and dye free. Who needs fruit snacks when you can eat a bowl of gummy vitamins twice a day?

In other news, the curly hair phobia has sadly not subsided, despite my very best efforts. I even wrote a social story complete with pictures to the tune of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. He finds it entertaining, but I don’t think it translates as effectively as I think it should into, “People with curly hair are just people.” He still immediately ducks and covers, literally, under whatever convenient hiding place is nearest anytime he sees curly hair. In fact, at the appointment this week, he dove under the registration desk when he saw the curly haired receptionist. In the back room, one of the aunts pointed out that she had a slight curl at the bottom of her hair (which is mostly straight). She invited him to touch it, which he did. He immediately pulled his hand back and said, “Where’s something hot I can touch?” What? I don’t know where he got this. I haven’t necessarily taught him that heat kills germs or that there are no curly hair germs, and he has neverbeen interested in anything  above luke-warm temperature. No hot food, no hot bath water, nothing. He did the same thing today when he touched a fuzzy blanket he didn’t like. Since he couldn’t find anything hot to touch, he used his Daddy’s trick of heating up your hands by rubbing them together until you see sparks.

Also, twice this week, he has cowered and hid his face from me because I was wearing a pink shirt. He was able to tell me that was what was bothering him, although he wasn’t able to unhide his face until I had changed shirts. Don’t really know what that’s all about. Let’s just hope it doesn’t become a new wide-spread phobia. If he ducks and covers when confronted with curly hair or pink shirts, we will probably be forced to become true home-bound hermits. Forever.

School is going well! For goodness sakes, let’s talk about something that is going well! Reading is really starting to “click” quickly, more than it has all year. It is so nice to see him be able to succeed without such struggle! It is sometimes tempting to strap him into something during class so he will be STILL, but he’s learning at least.

And I found a company here in Longview that does Interactive Metronome (a new computer program for ADHD and autism that requires a certified technician to apply and costs an arm and a leg), occupational, physical, and speech therapy. They do not take our insurance (surprise, surprise), but I really don’t think there’s anything comparable in our area, so maybe if I call the insurance company and haggle them long enough, I can get them to cover it at in-network prices. That would make it almost affordable. It’s a big maybe, but I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Velma
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 10:57:07

    Well, I guess it wouldn’t help if you were my neighbor. My boy has very curly hair, which he is quite proud of. He has his own phobias and sensory issues, though. For us, the meds are Abilify, Zoloft, Depakote, Omega3, multivitamins, and lately he stated taking vitamin C chewable tablets. And we have to be very sure he takes his meds on time or the meltdowns, etc., will hit pretty fast. Oh, how I wish he would take naps like your boy. He just never has.

    Reply

    • bipolaraspiemom
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 16:06:54

      We have tried abilify…it worked pretty well for 12-18 months, and then Javan developed a sort of tic in his throat muscles that made it super difficult to talk. Depakote knocked him out flat. Zoloft made him self-injurious. We DO however have luck with the Omega 3, multivitamins, and vitamin c. Calcium too. And he takes a natural product called CALM that has magnesium and helps his bowels. Plus he’s on risperdone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

