School with a Smile?

It’s super late and I’m super tired, but feeling relaxed after a night out with my besties. Hubby had a sort of hard time with bedtime, which is not unusual and is not easy to deal with even when we meet the bedtime storm as a united front. But, I am so glad he weathered it alone, because he knew I needed a break. And I feel like a new woman! Thank you, Husband! And thank you to every husband, family member, or friend who helps a struggling mom like me get a break, even at a high cost to yourselves. It matters. It means that maybe tomorrow I won’t yell when I might have or I’ll have the self-control to calmly think through a behavior to arrive at it’s logical root when I otherwise would have just spanked and sent him to his room.

Even if you are not someone who can physically step in and take care of a special needs person to give the caretaker a break, just letting them know that you care helps. I’ve had several short emails and facebook messages from friends who know I just need to hear “I care.” Even if they don’t know what else to say, because realistically there is nothing to say, that is enough. Knowing that they aren’t fed up with me and my whining and my challenges and my inability to be physically there with and for them, is a huge factor in my emotional stability.

Let’s talk about school, ok?!? So, we’ve only been doing the time4learning “computer school” for two days now, and I’m loving it! Javan actually likes school! He may whine a little when it’s time for school to start, because he still thinks it will be too hard and too boring, but once he starts, he likes it. Here’s proof: a picture of him being silly and smiling WHILE doing school!

Javan enjoying school on the computer. ENJOYING!!!

He did one of these lessons six times today. SIX! Because he wanted to. He did fine the first time – I didn’t ask him to repeat it. What an awesome feeling. There is no way I could teach him a lesson on high frequency words in person and be asked to repeat it with him six times. Ever. He even waited excitedly all day to show his Dad how he does it! And, he reread the decodable story to his Dad when he got home. I had a hard time getting him to read the story, because “read a story” sounds big and scary. And sentences look big and scary. But once I got him to do it, and remember that he can do it, he did it easily and with joy. He reread it to his Dad flawlessly and was so proud of himself!

He told his PawPaw about school at lunch and his PawPaw asked him, “How did you read a whole story?” to which he replied, “With my awesome reading skills!” Music to my ears!

We ran into a small amount of frustration with the math today, because he is not at their first grade level currently. It’s just because the curriculum we used last year doesn’t quite line up perfectly with the time4learning curriculum. So, we went through a few of the kindergarten math lessons together until we found “the right spot.” We both agreed on where we needed to be, which is basically the second half of the kindergarten year, and voila! Problem solved. No big deal. Ahhhhh, no big deal. It’s about time something felt that way!

As a member of Time4Learning, I have been given the opportunity to review their program and share my experiences. While I was compensated, this review was not written or edited by Time4Learning and my opinion is entirely my own. For more information, check out their standards-based curriculum or learn how to write your own curriculum review.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruthie
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 08:43:59

    Sounds like you are getting an upswing quicker then last time. So glad things are going well. remember this for the next time things head south. There will another up day behind it. You are doing well!!!!!! Ruthie <

    Reply

  2. Kathi Weiss
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 23:23:31

    I’m so glad that you are liking time4learning. My son has been using it for five years now and still loves it. I don’t know what I’m going to do when those high school years hit. I was about ready to tell you that you can drop back a grade in one subject and still stay on grade level for the others, when I read that you moved back to the Kindergarten level. Wise choice. I hope you continue to like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

