Happy Father’s Day, Daddy

I don’t know if it’s a side effect of the current medication we’re trying or if my son is developing a psychotic disorder, but Javan has been experiencing an onslaught of hallucinations lately. Not all day, every day. But usually at least once a day at some point. Some scary, some benign, some annoying, some ridiculing. And to be honest, I have absolutely no idea how I am supposed to handle that. I comfort and reassure him as I can, but aside from that I don’t know how to treat the hallucinations.

But it touched me to the depths of my heart one day to see his Daddy know exactly what he needed when I hadn’t a clue. Javan had been hiding in fear under a blanket for about 15 minutes before Daddy came home. I attempted to comfort him, but he repeatedly hushed me and insisted that I shouldn’t talk to him or acknowledge him in any way so that “they” wouldn’t know he was there. I was scared and felt helpless and a little rejected. But as soon as Daddy got home and I told him what was going on, this happened…

DaddyJapheth just climbed right under that blanket without hesitation. He knew what to do. He knew what his little boy needed. He broke down Javan’s defenses in order to let Javan feel his strong arms wrap around him and look him in the eyes and reassure him that he was safe. I don’t know all that passed between those two in that moment, but I recognized the beauty of it immediately and snapped this photo. You can see our mess. That’s just life. But what what you see under the blanket is Life. It’s the real thing. And I thank God for this husband, this father, who lives Life with gentleness and grace and strength. I don’t know what I’d do without him. I love you, Japheth.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 12:06:17

    AWWWWWW This is precious!!!

    Reply

  2. Tina Olson
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 18:51:19

    What a beautiful expression of your love, Krista… He is a wonderful man!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

