Hospital Stay #3, Days 4-5

I’m extremely frustrated with our entire medical system right now. The system is failing my child. I’m convinced that this latest hospitilization has been a huge waste of time.

I spoke with Javan’s hospital therapist day before yesterday and told her, just as I told the intake coordinator, the intake psychologist, the intake medical doctor, and every nurse I’ve come into contact with that his regular psychiatrist recommends taking him off all medications and starting over. Her response? Not only had she not been made aware of that suggestion, but she didn’t think they can even do that at this hospital. I informed her that I’d spoken to two nurses on the children’s unit prior to rehospitilizing him and they both reassured me that they can do that AND I have a friend who has recently had her son in this very hospital for that very reason. She assured me that she’d talk to some kind of social worker about it and call back the next day. Two days later, and I still haven’t heard back from her despite the numerous messages I’ve left urging her to call me back.

I’ve also been trying to contact his hospital psychiatrist for over 36 hours now to no avail. I want to know why the suggestion to take him off all medications was ignored. Was it because no one ever informed him that that was our intent in hospitalizing him? Was it, as the therapist suggested, for the fear that insurance wouldn’t offer to cover enough time to do a complete med wash? I’d sure like to know.

Because the therapist suggested insurance complications as a possible reason for the psychiatrist choosing not to do a full med wash, I contacted my insurance company’s inpatient coordinator  (I’ve learned so much new terminology through all this) and explained our situation to her and asked what it would take to get enough days covered by insurance to get him the help he so desperately needs. Her first question: He’s been inpatient for five days, so why am I just now addressing this?  *insert screaming, crying, and gnashing of teeth here* She said that I would have been more likely to get such a service covered had I asked for long term hospitalization from the beginning. As it is, her records indicated that Javan’s case was up for review tomorrow, where the psychiatrist, nurses, and therapist will convene to discern whether or not Javan needs further treatment or is ready to be dismissed. Well, that’s the first I’ve heard of that. If they determine that he does need an extended stay, they can request extra days from the insurance. But regardless of the treatment plan, the insurance will only consent to dole those extra days out a few at a time. They’re not going to just consent to a couple of weeks or months long stay. So all in all, we have no freaking clue what’s going on or what’s going to happen.

And our visit tonight was not reassuring. Unless you count it reassuring that the psych team would be completely out of their minds to release him in his state of mind and maybe I can make them listen to me after this. To avoid the difficulties of departure that we encountered at the conclusion of our last visit, the head nurse brought my husband and I up to a room on the children’s unit to visit with Javan. That way he’d be away from the other visitors and already be on his unit when we leave, thus preventing him from refusing to leave the cafeteria to go with the other children to the unit. He talked to us a very little bit about his day. He told us he saw his psychiatrist, went to group therapy, watched two tv shows, and did not go to the gym. But he was so angry. I mean, we got a little bit of hugs and kisses and a little bit of smiles. We did Pokemon voices together and laughed about each other’s impressions. But mostly, he was angry. He would tense up all his muscles, ball up his fists, and get in our faces…He said he was angry, but not with us. But he didn’t know what he was angry about. About fifteen minutes before it was time for us to go, he started directing his anger toward the fact that we had to leave, all the while insisting that we didn’t have to leave. He began pinching and hitting. We couldn’t even get close enough to him to hug or kiss him goodbye. We just had to leave heartbroken.

During our visit, he told me Team Rocket was in the air vents and they are his team now instead of the Children’s Destruction Team. If you aren’t familiar with Team Rocket, they’re the highly unsuccessful bad guys from Pokemon. He brought me tons of artwork featuring them.

20150909_205734

Javan with Jesse, James, and Meowth of Team Rocket

Jesse, James, and Meowth of Team Rocket

Jesse, James, and Meowth of Team Rocket

A Team Rocket Pizza

A Team Rocket Friendship Pizza

Wanted: Team Rocket for friends

Wanted: Team Rocket for friends

A Team Rocket Gingerbread Man

A Team Rocket Gingerbread Man

That’s not even all of them. As you can see, he’s completely locked on to his infatuation of Team Rocket. That was already an interest of his prior to hospitalization,  but it’s gone beyond just interest. It’s become his world. I assume that’s a defense mechanism to help him feel safer and more in control in a scary environment.

He also drew quite a few pictures of Transformers. Here are a few.

Transformers

Transformers

High Tide, a boat Transformer:

High Tide

High Tide

Blurr, a race car Transformer:

Blurr

Blurr

And my favorite, Salvage the recycling truck:

Salvage

Salvage

I love the detail on that one. He also drew thesee valuable crystals:

Crystals Worth $1,000

Crystals Worth $1,000

With this note on the back:

“Keep these safe, Mom and Dad

So we know the archeology hobby is alive and well.

I know my sweet boy is scared and hurting. I’m willing to do anything and everything to help him, but I’m going to need the medical community to step it the hell UP.

Leave a Reply

