Homebound Schooling

Is the world spinning faster these days? Yeah, I’m gonna need it to slow down now. Just  for a little while? Pretty please?

Today was Javan’s first day back at school since the hospitalization. It…DID NOT…go well. Three adults came to pick him up today: Mrs. Driver, someone new that I don’t know, and Mr. Assisstant Principal. I had gotten Javan to go willingly outside to wait for the bus, but because of a miscommunication they were running late and Javan freaked out and went back inside before the bus arrived. I couldn’t get him back outside, but I got him to the door and Mr. Assistant Principal helped me get him out onto the porch. Then he helped me peel him off the porch rail. Twice. Then we each took an arm and walked Javan to the car. He cried and screamed/shrieked “CALL THE POLICE!” over and over the whole time. Then we hoisted him into he car and I shut the doors and hoped for the best. I can’t even help buckle him or anything. Talk about feeling useless.

Twenty minutes later, I got a call from Mrs. Teacher that he was being sent back home after throwing up all over himself, the car, and poor Mr. Assistant Principal. He never even made it out of the car to go to school. Javan says he didn’t mean to make himself throw up, and didn’t mean to throw up on anyone else either. I kind of believe him, seeing as how he was perfectly honest about knocking off Mr. Assistant Principal’s glasses and trying to break his nose with a punch to the face. Although he did forget to mention that he’d also scratched the poor guy’s arms to shreds, so who knows. Javan also told me afterwards that he was trying to get to the front of the car the whole way to school so that he could take control of he vehicle and make the car take him home.

So they brought him home, I got him out of his throw up clothes, and I made him lay down for 30 minutes and he lost TV for the day. Standard protocol for a bad day at school. I also then had him do several of the worksheets that his teacher had sent to the hospital that he didn’t get done there. He was supposed to lose trick or treating tonight too, but I really hate to make him miss his favorite holiday. So because he did his work well for me and he called Mr. Assistant Principal and apologized for his earlier behavior, I did let him go trick or treating, which went spectacularly by the way. Several people commented on his politeness. No one commented on the fact that he didn’t go in costume.

So, back to the school thing. I got a call from the special education coordinator asking about setting up an ARD meeting to switch Javan to homebound schooling. It just isn’t even safe to try to get him to school anymore. For him or for anyone. I knew this was coming. I’m surprised they held out this long, really. Everyone up there has given their all plus some and I’m so grateful for each and every one of them. But, as Mrs. Principal and I agreed over the phone this afternoon, we’re just not being productive with school. So we agreed that homebound is kind of the only thing to do right now, even though that means giving up any socialization that was happening at school. We have a tentative ARD meeting set up for Thursday (three days from now),  if they can make that work with everyone’s schedules.

Javan will not return to school again. Not for now. I’ll homeschool him until they get a homebound teacher to come out and begin lessons with him. It’s been a long time once I’ve done lesson planning, but here’s a preview of what I put together for tomorrow:

20161031_220819.jpg

That’s a lesson from our Kindergarten Moving Beyond the Page curriculum combined with math and reading worksheets from Javan’s teacher. I want him to realize right away that staying home does not equal no school work. That should be enough work to easily last 2 hours, which is how long a homebound teacher would come out. Two hours twice a week. The rest of the week would be me having him complete assignments that the teacher leaves for him. He’ll still be considered a public school student, so he’ll still qualify for occupational and speech therapies through the school. It will all just take place at home.

Speaking of home, mine’s an embarrassing mess. I need to get rid of clutter so I don’t scare away the teacher. Is there a kind of garage sale where you just let people come into your house and ask if they can buy random stuff? Can you do that? This sounds like a good plan to me.

Oh, right, we’re talking about school. We’re definitely going to get involved in the TBRI (trust based relationship intervention) therapy as a family. The goal is to increase trust and decrease anxiety. Hopefully one day, Javan will be comfortable enough leaving me that he can be successful at school. Or maybe we’ll try the homebound schooling and it’ll be a perfect fit and we’ll stick with that. We’ll just have to try to and see.

Other than school aversion and extreme hyperactivity, he’s really doing fairly well considering he’s on no medications. He’s having some trouble getting to sleep at night and complains of being scared of monsters. We pray with him and reassured him that Rosco would ever let a monster close to him; he’d bark or growl at any stranger. We may try the CBD oil this weekend, but we really wanted to see him at home off of any meds for a week before we do that.

What else? Oh, he knocked out another baby tooth that was barely loose, even though we told him the tooth fairy wouldn’t pay him for teeth that had been forced out too soon. It’s like as soon as he notices that a tooth wiggles the least little bit, it’s gotta come out. Oy.

Javan learned to play Battleship this weekend and when he saw that you could sink each other’s submarines, exclaimed, “But submarines really already sunk!” I love his brain sometimes.

He had us do group therapy last night before bed. He lead the therapy just like his hospital therapist had done. He started by asking us to write down three things that make us angry and then he asked us write down four things that we can do to control our anger in those situations. He was very professional about it all. Here was my sheet from therapy:

20161030_190854.jpg

Then he asked us a bonus question about naming ways that bones help our bodies. Here’s what he told me to write down:

20161031_223959.jpg

He remembers the term “blood cell production” from therapy. That therapist does her job well.

That’s all the rememberings my brain can do today. So, anyway, here’s to our new homeschool-public school hybrid education!

 

Leave a Reply

